2022 BAFTA Film Awards Winners List – The Hollywood Reporter

Harnessing the power of the sandworms of Arrakis, the great science fiction spectacle of Denis Villeneuve Dunes gobbled up the most honors at the BAFTA Film Awards on Sunday in London. But it was Jane Campion’s gothic western The power of the dog who won first prize.

As expected, Dunes – which entered the ceremony with 11 nominations – topped the craft categories, taking home five awards in total, including for cinematography, special visual effects, sound, original music and production design. The power of the dogwhich had eight nominations, won Best Picture and Best Director.

Also claiming two wins was CODA – for Best Supporting Actor (Troy Kotsur) and Best Original Screenplay – and West Side Storyfor supporting actress (Ariana DeBose) and cast.

Other performance categories went to Will Smith for Lead Actor in King Richard and, perhaps the most unexpected result of the evening, Joanna Scanlan for After Love.

Rebel Wilson hosted the ceremony — a glitzy return to an in-person event after last year’s pandemic-impacted virtual edition — serving up a solid lineup of gags poking fun at attendees and herself. Keeping up with the times, she also took the opportunity to address the war in Ukraine, at one point giving Russian President Vladimir Putin the middle finger.

With the DGA Awards taking place on Saturday and the Critics Choice Awards later on Sunday, several of the winners were not present to collect their BAFTA awards, including Campion, Smith and Paul Thomas Anderson.

See the full list of winners below.

Best film
The power of the dog – WINNER
Don’t look up
Licorice Pizza
The power of the dog

Main actress
Joanna Scanlan, After Love – WINNER
Lady Gaga, House of Gucci
Alana Haim, Licorice Pizza
Emily Jones, CODA
Renate Reinsve, The worst person in the world
Tessa Thompson, Who passed

The power of the dogJane Campion – WINNER
After LoveAlem Khan
drive my carRyusuke Hamaguchi
EventAudrey Diwan
Licorice PizzaPaul Thomas Anderson
TitaniumJulia Ducournau

Main actor
Will Smith, King Richard- WINNER
Adel Akhtar, Ali and Ava
Mahershala Ali, swan song
Benedict Cumberbatch, The power of the dog
Leonardo DiCaprio, Don’t look up
Stephane Graham, Boiling point

Animation Film
Encanto – WINNER
To run away
The Mitchells vs. the Machines

production design
Dunes, Patrice Vermette, Zsuzsanna Sipos – WINNER
CyranoSarah Greenwood, Katie Spencer
The French DispatchAdam Stockhausen, Rena Deangelo
alley of nightmaresTamara Deverell, Shane Vieau
West Side StoryAdam Stockhausen, Rena Deangelo

Summer Of Soul (or, When The Revolution Couldn’t Be Televised) – WINNER

Become Cousteau
To run away
The rescue

Original screenplay
Licorice PizzaPaul Thomas Anderson – WINNER
Be the RicardosAaron Sorkin
BelfastKenneth Branagh
Don’t look upAdam McKay
King RichardZach Baylin

Adapted scenario
drive my carRyusuke Hamaguchi
DunesEric Roth, Jon Spaihts, Denis Villeneuve
The lost girlMaggie Gyllenhaal
The power of the dogJane Campion

Outstanding British Film
Belfast– WINNER
After Love
Ali and Ava
Boiling point
Everybody’s talking about Jamie
House of Gucci
Last night in Soho
no time to die
Who passed

Supporting actor
Troy Kosur, CODED – WINNER
Mike Faist, West Side Story
Ciaran Hinds, Belfast
Woody Normand, go! Go on
Jesse Plemons, The power of the dog
Kodi Smit-Mcphee, The power of the dog

Movie not in english
Driving my car – WINNER
God’s hand
Parallel mothers
Little mom
The worst person in the world

costume design
CruelJenny Beavan – WINNER
CyranoMassimo Cantini Parrini
DunesRobert Morgan, Jacqueline West
The French DispatchMilena Canonero
alley of nightmaresLuis Sequeira

supporting actress
Ariana DeBose, West Side Story- WINNER
Caitriona Balfe, Belfast
Jesse Buckley, The lost girl
Ann Dowd, Mass
Aunjanue Ellis, King Richard
Ruth Nega, Who passed

EE Rising Star Award (voted by the public)
Lashana Lynch – WINNER
Ariana DeBose
Harris Dickinson
Millicent Simmonds
Kodi Smit Mcphee

Outstanding Debut by a British Writer, Director or Producer
The more they fallJeymes Samuel (writer/director) [Also written by Boaz Yakin] – WINNER
After LoveAleem Khan (writer/director)
Boiling pointJames Cummings (screenwriter), Hester Ruoff (producer) [also written by Philip Barantini and produced by Bart Ruspoli]
Keyboard fantasiesPosy Dixon (writer/director), Liv Proctor (producer)
Who passedRebecca Hall (writer/director)

West Side StoryCindy Tolan – WINNER
Boiling pointCarolyn McLeod
DunesFrancine Maisler
God’s handMassimo Appolloni, Annamaria Sambucco
King RichardRich Delia, Avy Kaufman

Make-up and hairstyle
Tammy Faye’s eyesLinda Dowds, Stephanie Ingram, Justin Raleigh – WINNER
CruelNadia Stacey, Naomi Donne
CyranoAlessandro Bertolazzi, Siân Miller
DunesLove Larson, Donald Mowat
House of GucciFrederic Aspiras, Jane Carboni, Giuliano Mariana, Sarah Nicole Tanno

Original score
DunesHans Zimmer – WINNER
Be the RicardosDaniel Pemberton
Don’t look upNicholas Britel
The French DispatchAlexandre Desplat
The power of the dogJonny Greenwood

DunesMac Ruth, Mark Mangini, Doug Hemphill, Theo Green, Ron Bartlett – WINNER
Last night in SohoColin Nicolson, Julian Slater, Tim Cavagin, Dan Morgan
no time to dieJames Harrison, Simon Hayes, Paul Massey, Oliver Tarney, Mark Taylor
A Quiet Place Part IIErik Aadahl, Michael Barosky, Brandon Proctor, Ethan Van Der Ryn
West Side StoryBrian Chumney, Tod Maitland, Andy Nelson, Gary Rydstrom

no time to dieTom Cross, Elliot Graham – WINNER
BelfastÚna Ni Dhonghaíle
DunesJoe Walker
Licorice PizzaAndy Jürgensen
Summer Of Soul (or, When The Revolution Couldn’t Be Televised)Joshua L. Pearson

Dunes, Greig Fraser – WINNER
alley of nightmaresDan Laustsen
no time to dieLinus Sandgren
The power of the dogAri Wegner
The tragedy of MacbethBruno Delbonnel

Special visual effects
DunesBrian Connor, Paul Lambert, Tristan Myles, Gerd Nefzer – WINNER
free guySwen Gillberg, Brian Grill, Nikos Kalaitzidis, Daniel Sudick
Ghostbusters: AfterlifeAharon Bourland, Sheena Duggal, Pier Lefebvre, Alessandro Ongaro
The Matrix ResurrectionsTom Debenham, Hew J Evans, Dan Glass, JD Schwaim
no time to dieMark Bokowski, Chris Corbould, Joel Green, Charlie Noble

British short film
The black copCherish Oteka – WINNER
WomenSam H. Freeman, Ng Choon Ping, Sam Ritzenberg, Hayley Williams
The palaceJo Prichard
StuffedTheo Rhys, Joss Holden-Rea
Three extraordinary committee meetingsMichael Woodward, Max Barron, Daniel Wheldon

British animated short
Don’t feed the pigeons, Jordi Morera – WINNER
art business
Joanna Quinn, Les Mills
Living Dread NightIda Melum, Danielle Goff, Laura Jayne Tunbridge, Hannah Kelso