2023 Movie Awards Schedule Returns To Normal – So Far

After two years of pandemic delays, the 2022-2023 Oscar season is shaping up to be a return to normal. This year’s Oscars will air live on ABC from the Dolby Theater at Ovation Hollywood on Sunday, March 12, 2023, two weeks earlier than last year’s delayed Oscars (which took place March 27, 2022) and a month earlier. later than the pre-COVID 2020 ceremony (which took place on February 9, 2020).

The Academy is staying away from Super Bowl LVII on February 12, 2023, while leaving plenty of time for Oscar show planning after the nominations are announced on January 24, 2023. The Academy’s new CEO, Bill Kramer, is already starting with the first ideas for the show.

More from IndieWire

With the theaters open, the Academy returned to both the usual 12-month calendar year and six-city theater eligibility requirements. One thing we still don’t know about the upcoming awards lineup: Whether January’s Golden Globes TV broadcast will return to NBC, which canceled the 2022 awards show to give the Hollywood Foreign Press Association time to institute long overdue reforms.

Hoping to improve their influence at the Oscars this cycle are bolstered iterations of the Gothams, Film Independent Spirit Awards, and Critics Choice Awards (CCAs).

Here is our (constantly updated) list of awards dates to remember:

2022

Wednesday August 31
Opening of the Venice Film Festival

friday september 2
Opening of the Telluride Film Festival

Thursday, September 8
Opening of the Toronto International Film Festival

Thursday September 15
Gotham Awards Submission Deadline

friday september 16
Deadline for submission of documentaries to the Critics Choice Awards

monday september 19
Art Directors Guild entries for television and feature films open online

monday october 3
Deadline for submitting feature-length documentaries to the Oscars
International Feature Film Oscars Submission Deadline

Wednesday, October 5

Opening of the BFI London Film Festival

friday october 14
Oscar Submission Deadline for Animated, Documentary and Live-Action Shorts

monday october 17
CCA Documentary Nominations Announced

Thursday October 20
Cinema Audio Society Awards Submission Forms available online

Thursday October 21
Gotham Awards nominations announced

tuesday november 1
Original Music and Song Oscar Submission Deadline

Wednesday, November 2
Opening of AFI FEST

tuesday november 8
CCA Documentary Voting Begins

sunday november 13

7th Annual Critics Choice Documentary Awards

tuesday november 15
Oscar Animated Feature and General Entry Submission Deadline

Saturday November 19
Academy Governors Awards

monday november 29
Gotham Awards announced

Thursday, December 1
The CAS entry submission deadline is 5:00 PM PT

monday 12 december
Preliminary voting for the Oscars begins at 9:00 a.m. PT
ADG Online Voting for Television and Feature Film Nominations Begins

tuesday 20 december
Voting for CAS nominations begins online

Wednesday, December 21
Oscar lists announced
PGA Nominations Polls Open

saturday 31 december
End of the Oscars eligibility period

2023

Wednesday January 4
New York Film Critics Circle Awards Ceremony

Thursday January 5
Palm Springs International Film Festival opens with awards gala

monday 9 january
ADG appointments announced

tuesday january 10
Final nominees in each CAS category are announced to media and online
National Board of Review Gala

Wednesday January 11

PGA Nominations Polls Close

Thursday January 12
PGA Awards nominees announced
Voting for Oscar nominations begins at 9:00 a.m. PT

Sunday January 15
SAG Awards announced

tuesday january 17
Voting for Oscar nominations ends at 5:00 p.m. PT

Thursday January 19
Final ADG Online Voting Begins
Opening of the Sundance Film Festival

monday january 23
The latest PGA polls are open

tuesday january 24
Announcement of Oscar nominations

Wednesday February 8
Opening of the Santa Barbara International Film Festival

Thursday February 9
CAS Final Voting Begins Online

Friday February 10
Advanced Imaging Society Lumière Award

monday 13 february
Oscar Nominees Luncheon

Friday February 17
Closing of the final PGA polls

Saturday February 18
Art Directors Guild Award

tuesday 21 february
Final CAS voting ends online at 5:00 p.m. PT.

Saturday February 25
The Annie Awards announced
PGA Awards announced

Thursday March 2
Voting for the Oscars final begins at 9 a.m.

Saturday March 4
59th Annual CAS Award

tuesday 7 march
Final Oscar voting ends at 5 p.m.

Sunday March 12
The 95th Annual Academy Awards airs on ABC

Best of IndieWire

Sign up for the Indiewire newsletter. For the latest news, follow us on Facebook, Twitter and Instagram.

Click here to read the full article.