35th European Film Awards: revenge at Cannes Comp for Ali Abbasi, Lukas Dhont and Ruben Ôstlund

Three big winners from this year’s Cannes Film Festival lead the nominations for the 35th European Film Awards. At Lukas Dhont closeby Ali Abbassi holy spider and Ruben Ôstlund triangle of sadness won four names each and will compete in the European Film, Best Director and Best Screenwriter categories. To take place on December 10, the awards are voted on via an army of 4,400 members (that’s how you get top-notch consensus). by Marie Kreutzer Bodice picked up three nominations and it should be noted that this will be a major duel between Cannes Comp Best Actress winner Zar Amir Ebrahimi (for holy spider) versus
Vicky Krieps, winner of the best Un Certain Regard performance. With only one name per song, Alice Diop Saint Omer wins the match sheet for the best European director for Alice Diop while After Sun received a Best European Actor nomination for Paul Mescal. It should be noted that the winners of the Awards of Excellence in the categories of European Cinematography, Editing, Production Design, Costume Design, Makeup and Hair, Original Score, Sound and Visual Effects will be determined by an eight-member jury made up of representatives of the various crafts and will be announced on November 23. Here is the list of names for EFA 2022:

european movie

Director Carla Simón, producers María Zamora, Stefan Schmitz, Tono Folguera & Giovanni Pompili

Director Lukas Dhont, producers Michiel Dhont, Dirk Impens, Michel Saint-Jean, Laurette Schillings, Arnold Heslenfeld, Frans van Gestel & Jacques-Henri Bronckart

Directed by Marie Kreutzer, producers Alexander Glehr, Johanna Scherz, Bernard Michaux, Jonas Dornbach, Janine Jackowski, Maren Ade & Jean-Christophe Reymond

holy spider
Directed by Ali Abbasi, producers Sol Bondy & Jacob Jarek

triangle of sadness
Directed by Ruben Östlund, producers Erik Hemmendorff & Philippe Bober

European documentary
A house made of shards – Simon Lereng Wilmont
Girl Gang – Susanne Regina Meures
Mariupolis 2 – Mantas Kvedaravičius
The Balcony Movie – Paweł Łoziński
The March on Rome – Mark Cousins

European Director
Lukas Dhont for Close
Marie Kreutzer for Corsage
Jerzy Skolimowski for EO
Ali Abbasi for Holy Spider
Alice Diop for Saint Omer
Ruben Ostlund for Triangle Of Sadness

European actress
Vicky Krieps in Bodice
Zar Amir Ebrahimi in Holy Spider
Léa Seydoux in A Beautiful Morning
Penélope Cruz in Parallel Mothers
Meltem Kaptan in Rabiye Kurnaz Vs. George W. Bush

European player
Paul Mescal in Aftersun
Eden Dabrine in Close
Elliott Crosset Hove in Godland
Pierfrancesco Favino in Nostalgia
Zlatko Burić in Triangle of Sadness

European screenwriter
Carla Simón & Arnau Vilaró for Alcarràs
Kenneth Branagh for Belfast
Lukas Dhont & Angelo Tijssens for Close
Ali Abbasi & Afshin Kamran Bahrami for Holy Spider
Ruben Ostlund for Triangle Of Sadness

European discovery – FIPRESCI Prize
107 Mothers – Peter Kerekes
Love according to Dalva – Emmanuelle Nicot
Other people – Aleksandra Terpinska
Pamfir – Dmytro Sukholytkyy-Sobchuk
Little Body – Laura Samani
Sonne – Kurdwin Ayub

XXXXXX Festival: NEWS GO HERE: Follow IONCINEMA.com for detailed updates on all major film festivals and film lab/fund news!