7 Filipino Short Films Featured In HollyShort

Hollywood-based international film festival, HollyShorts Film Festival will screen seven Filipino short films through August 20, 2022 in Los Angeles, California. The Philippines is this year the country of honor at the 18th edition of the world festival of short films qualifying the Academy.

The HollyShorts Film Festival selected over 400 films from over 5,000 submissions. These films, all under 30 minutes in length, are to be screened on location at the TCL Chinese Theater in Hollywood, while online screenings will be available via Bitpix.

As a Country Spotlight, August 14 is dedicated to presenting a Filipino retrospective to festival-goers and enthusiasts. The Film Development Council of the Philippines (FDCP), in partnership with HollyShorts, will also host the panel discussion In Conversation: Filipino Filmmakers in the US. It will star Benito Bautista, executive director of San Diego Filipino Cinema and Margie Templo Parks, producer at Arkeofilms. These US-based Filipino filmmakers will share their insights and experiences on their journey as artists, focusing on collaborating with Filipino artists, as well as their learnings and struggles in filmmaking in the United States. The participation of the delegation will be crowned by a welcome evening for partners and speakers.

The short films selected to be screened at the 18th HollyShorts Film Festival are: “Shangri-La” by Isabel Sandoval, “The Headhunter’s Daughter” by Don Josephus Raphael Eblahan, “Imago” by Raymund Ribay Gutierrez, “It’s Raining Frogs Outside (Ampangabagat nin talakba ha likol) by Maria Estela Paiso, “Excuse Me, Miss, Miss, Miss” by Sonny Calvento, “Filipiñana” by Rafael Manuel and “Anino” by Raymond Red.

The Hollyshorts Film Festival is considered one of the best international film festivals that specifically showcases short films from around the world and brings them closer to the prestigious Oscars. At least six short films from last year’s festival selection have been nominated for the 2022 Oscars.