Jayadev Puraskar for veteran Ghanashyam Mohapatra, best film by Kalira Atita

Distinguished producer and director Ghanashyam Mohapatra has been selected for the prestigious Jayadev Award, Odisha’s highest cinematic honor, for 2019 for lifetime achievement and profound contribution to Odia’s film industry.

State Culture Minister Jyoti Prakash Panigrahi announced the 31st State Film Awards in Bhubaneswar on Friday.

Mohapatra will be congratulated with a cash prize of Rs 2 lakh, certificate of honor.

Likewise, famous filmmaker Nila Madhab Panda was shortlisted for the coveted Mohan Sundar Dev Goswami Award for his film Kalira Atita.

The prize is accompanied by a cash prize of Rs 50,000 and a certificate of honor to the producer.

While Kalira Atita won the award for best film, Nila Madhav Panda was voted best director for making the same feature film.

Likewise, Saroj Parida was selected for the best actor award, the name of Kavya Kiran was chosen for the best actress, both featured for the film Khusi.

Among others, Bobby Mishra and Anjana Dash were respectively elected best actor and actress in a supporting role for the films Babu Bhaijan and Bapa Tume Bhari Dusta. Tribhuban Panda was selected as the best comic artist for the film Golmal Love. Aishwarya Mishra was chosen for the award for best child artist for the film Khusi.

The Odisha State Film Awards, instituted in 1968, are decided by independent jury members selected by the State Department of Culture. The jury includes eminent personalities from the film fraternity, journalists, civil servants, academics and other personalities from various fields.

Meanwhile, Odisha’s government also declared the winners of the 8th State Tele Awards on Friday. Kalia Karuchii Lila was voted best TV series of the year 2019.

(Edited by Suryakant Jena)

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.