Kerala State Film Awards 2021 winners declared, see full list here – The New Indian Express


Through Online office

KOCHI: The results of the 51st Kerala State Film Awards were announced on Saturday afternoon October 16, 2021, honoring the best of Kerala cinema and artists of the year 2020.

The jury of this prestigious awards committee was chaired by actress and director Suhasini Maniratnam, winner of the Tamil Nadu State Film Award. Other jury members for this year’s Kerala Film Awards include South Indian filmmakers Bhadran, P Sheshadri, musician Mohan Sithara, cinematographer CK Muraleedharan, sound designer M Harikumar and critic and screenwriter N Sasidharan.

The results were announced by Kerala Film Development Corporation Minister Saji Cheriyan along with Chalachitra Academy at an event held in Thiruvananthapuram.

‘The Great Indian Kitchen’ won the award for Best Picture, with its writer-director Jeo Baby being crowned Best Writer. The Best Actor Award went to Jayasurya for her performance in “Vellam”, and the Best Actress Award went to Anna Ben for her work in “Kappela”. Sidhartha Siva won the award for best director. Director Sachy “Ayyappanum Koshiyum” won the award for best popular film.

The director of ‘The Great Indian Kitchen’ Jeo Baby said he was extremely happy and would like to dedicate the award to all the women in this company. “In making the film, we really want to send it to film festivals. The reason is that we were sure this is a topic that needs to be discussed. Beyond our expectations, the film was well received by the public everywhere when it was posted online, ”Jeo said.

However, Jeo was not shy about expressing his disappointment that Nimisha Sajayan did not get the Best Actress award for the film. “I really expected Nimisha to receive an award for the film because she played her character to perfection,” he added.

This year, the Kerala State Film Awards selected their winners from over 80 films. The full list of winners is as follows:

Best actor: Jayasurya (Vellam)

Best actress: Anna Ben (Kappela)

Best film: Great Indian cuisine (Director: Jeo Baby)

Best Film with Popular Appeal and Aesthetic Value: Ayyappanum Koshiyum (Director: Sachy)

Second best film: Thinkalazhcha Nishchayam (Senna Hegde)

Best Children’s Film: Good friend

Best director: Sidhartha Siva (Ennivar)

Best screenwriter: Jeo Baby (Great Indian cuisine)

Best story: Senna Hegde (Thinkalazcha Nischayam)

Best Director (debut): Muhammad Musthafa (Kappela)

Best editor: Mahesh Narayanan (CU Soon)

Best photography: Chandru Selvaraj (Kayattum)

Better sound design: Tony Babu (Great Indian cuisine)

Best Music Director, Best Background Music: M Jayachandran (Sufiyum Sujatayum)

Best lyricist: Anwar Ali

Best artistic direction: Santosh Raman (Pyali, Malik)

Better visual effects: Saryas Mohammad (Love)

Best Character Actor: Sudheesh (Ennivar, Bhoomiyile Manohara Swakaryam)

Best Character Actress: Sreekekha (Veyil)

Best Child Actor: Niranjan S.

Best Child Actress: Aravya Sharma

Best singer (male): Shahbaaz Aman

Best female singer: Nithya Mammen

Best dubbing artists: Shobi Thilakan (man), Riya Saira (woman)

Best Colourist: Liju Prabhakar (Kayattam)

Best makeup: Rasheed Ahamed (article 21)

Best disguise: Dhanya Balakrishnan (Malik)

Best choreography: Lalitha Soby & Babu Xavier (Soofiyum Sujathayum)

Special price for the women / transgender category: Nanjiamma


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.