Soi Cheang’s ‘Limbo’ Tops 2022 Hong Kong Film Awards Nominations | News

Soi Cheang’s crime thriller Limbo leads the pack at the 40th Hong Kong Film Awards (HKFA) with 14 nominations, as the event prepares to return as an in-person ceremony after last year’s cancellation due to the pandemic.

The Black-and-White Dark Crime, which premiered at Berlinale Special in 2021, earned nods including Best Picture, Best Director, and actors Lam Ka Tung, Cya Liu, and Fish Liew. The thriller centers on a veteran detective and a rookie copycat who team up to catch a serial killer.

Scroll down for the full list of nominations

He was closely followed by Anita, a biopic of Canto-pop legend Anita Mui directed by Longman Leung, which earned 12 nominations. The feature film premiered as the closing film of the 2021 Busan International Film Festival.

Jun Li’s Social Drama Derivative picked up 11 nominations; sports biopic zero to hero, directed by Jimmy Wan, received nine; and raging firethe last film directed by the late Benny Chan, was nominated for eight.

keep on rolling, a tribute to acclaimed Hong Kong director Ann Hui, was the only documentary across all categories to receive nominations. Artistic director-turned-documentarian Man Lim Chung earned nominations for the film in the Best New Director and Best Director categories.

Man will compete for Best Director against the late Chan for raging fireLeung for Anitafor Limbo and Peter Chan for the sports biopic Jump.

Lam earned two Best Actor nominations, one for his role as a veteran detective in Limbo and another for Chan Kin Long’s feature debut hand rolled cigarettewhile Liew was also twice nominated in the Best Supporting Actress category for both Limbo and Anita.

Several new faces are among the nominees. All of the new nominees get a second nomination in another category for the same role: Louise Wong (Anita) also nominated for Best Actress, Leung Chung Hang (zero to hero) also for Best Actor, Chung Suet Ying (Time) also for Best Supporting Actress, Fung Ho Yeung (zero to hero) and Will Or, both also for Best Supporting Actor.

The nominations were unveiled today by HKFA Double Best Actor Nick Cheung and 2018 Best New Director winner Kearen Pang at an in-person press conference held at the Kowloon Bay International and Exhibition Center in Hong Kong.

The 40th HKFA will honor two years of Hong Kong productions from 2020 to 2021 and will take place on April 17 at the Hong Kong Cultural Center. The previous edition was broadcast live in May 2020 as a closed event, with only HKFA President Derek Yee announcing the winners.

40and Hong Kong Film Awards Nominations

Best film
raging fire
zero to hero

Best Director
Man Lim Chung, keep on rolling
Benny Chan, raging fire
Longman Leung, Anita
Soi Cheang, Limbo
Peter Ho-Sun Chan, Jump

Best Screenplay
Ashley Cheung Yin Kei, Ho Siu Hong, Li Ho Tin, Ling Wai Chun, A second champion
Ho Ching Yi, Lam Ka Tung, Time
At Kin Yee, Shum Kwan Sin, Limbo
Jimmy Wan, David Lo, zero to hero
JunLi, Derivative

Best actor
Lam Ka Tung, hand rolled cigarette
Patrick Tse, Time
Lam Ka Tung, Limbo
Leung Chung Hang, zero to hero
Francois Ng, Derivative

Best Actress
Chrissie Chau, Madalena
Louise Wang, Anita
Cya Liu, Limbo
Sandra Ng, zero to hero
Gong Li, Jump

Best Supporting Actor
Louis Koo, Anita
LamSuet, Time
Fung Ho Yeung, zero to hero
Will Ou, Derivative
Tse Kwan Ho, Derivative

Best Supporting Actress
Paw Hee Ching, Taken in time
fish liew, Anita
Chung Suet Ying, Time
fish liew, Limbo
Bai Lang, Jump
Loletta Lee, Derivative

Best New Performer
Louise Wang, Anita
Chung Suet Ying, Time
Leung Chung Hang, zero to hero
Fung Ho Yeung, zero to hero
Will Ou, Derivative

Best Cinematography
Rick Lau, hand rolled cigarette
Man Fung Yuen, raging fire
Antoine Pun, Anita
Christopher Doyle, Kubbie Tsoi, love after love
Cheng Siu Keung, Limbo

Best Editing
William Chang Suk Ping, Alan Lo, hand rolled cigarette
Chung Wai Chiu, shock wave 2
Mak Chi Sin, Li Dianshi, He Yongyi, The Battle of Changjin Lake
Curran Pang, raging fire
David Richardson, Limbo

Best Art Direction
Cheung Siu Hong, Yman Yiu, hand rolled cigarette
Pater Wong, Anita
Zhao Hai, love after love
Kenneth Mak, Renee Wong, Limbo
Albert Poon Yick Sum, Derivative

Best Costume and Makeup Design
Cheung Siu Hong, Chan Chi Ching Dos Santos, hand rolled cigarette
Bobo Ng Bo Ling, Dynasty Warriors
Dora Ng, Karen Yip Anita
Emi Wada, love after love
Bruce Yu, Karen Yip, Limbo

Best Action Choreography
Leung Pok Yan, A second champion
Tang Sui Wa, hand rolled cigarette
Li Chung Chi, shock wave 2
Donnie Yen, Ku Huen Chiu, Tanigaki Kenji, Li Chung Chi, raging fire
Jack Wong Wai Leung, Limbo

Best Original Film Score
Chiu Tsang Hei, Andy Cheung, Anita
Ryuichi Sakamoto, love after love
Kenji Kawai, Limbo
Tai Day, zero to hero
Wong Hin Yan, Derivative

Best Original Movie Song
A second champion
Welcome to this town, the way we keep dancing
Dead Lock, raging fire
zero to hero

Best sound design
Nip Kei Wing, Ip Siu Kei, shock wave 2
Wang Danrong, Steve Burgess, Yin Jie, The Battle of Changjin Lake
Lee Yiu Keung George, Yiu Chun Hin, Kaikangwol Rungsakorn, Stan Yau, raging fire
Tu Duu-Chih, Wu Shu-Yao, Anita
Nopawat Likitwong, Limbo

Best Visual Effects
Yee Kwok Leung, Garrett K Lam, Chiu Tak Piu, Loki Ho, shock wave 2
Tsui Hark, Dennis Yeung, Wang Lei, The Battle of Changjin Lake
Leung Wai Man, Raymond Lim Hung Fung, Alex Diu King Wai, Hung Man Shi, raging fire
Yee Kwok Leung, Garrett K Lam, Raymond Leung, Candy Hung, Anita
Garrett K Lam, Ho Man Lok, Diu King Wai, Limbo

Best New Director
Chiu Sin Hang, A second champion
Kin Long Chan, hand rolled cigarette
Man Lim Chung, keep on rolling
Lau Ho Leung, Taken in time
JunLi, Derivative

Best Chinese-Language Asian Film
Till we Meet Again
american girl
my missing valentine