Winners of the BAFTA Film Awards 2022

(Photo by Chiabella James/Warner Bros. Entertainment)

As the 2022 EE British Academy Film Awards ceremony approaches, Denis Villeneuve Dunes led all nominations with 11, including Best Picture, and it won five trophies in categories below the line, including Original Score, Cinematography and Production Design. by Kenneth Branagh Belfast entered the evening with six nominations and won Best British Film, and Paul Thomas Anderson Licorice Pizza capitalized on one of its five nominations by winning for Original Screenplay. But it was Jane Campion’s The power of the dogwhich just netted him an award at the DGA Awards last night, earning him Best Picture and Best Director honors.

Read on for the full list of winners of the 2022 EE British Academy Film Awards.

Best film




Don’t look up




The power of the dog


Licorice Pizza

Outstanding British Film


After Love


Ali and Ava


Don’t look up






Everybody’s talking about Jamie


Gucci House


Last night in Soho


no time to die


Who passed

Outstanding Debut by a British Writer, Director or Producer

After LoveAleem Khan (writer/director)
Boiling pointJames Cummings (screenwriter), Hester Ruoff (producer) [also written by Philip Barantini and produced by Bart Ruspoli]
The more they fallJeymes Samuel (writer/director) [Also written by Boaz Yakin] – WINNER
Keyboard fantasiesPosy Dixon (writer/director), Liv Proctor (producer)
Who passedRebecca Hall (writer/director)

Movie not in english

drive my car – WINNER
God’s hand
Parallel mothers
Little mom
The worst person in the world


Become Cousteau
To run away
The rescue
Summer Of Soul (or, When The Revolution Couldn’t Be Televised)

Animation Film

Encanto – WINNER
To run away
The Mitchells vs. the Machines


After LoveAlem Khan
drive my carRyusuke Hamaguchi
EventAudrey Diwan
Licorice PizzaPaul Thomas Anderson
The power of the dogJane Campion – WINNER
TitaniumJulia Ducournau

Original screenplay

Be the RicardosAaron Sorkin
BelfastKenneth Branagh
Don’t look upAdam McKay
King RichardZach Baylin
Licorice PizzaPaul Thomas Anderson – WINNER

Adapted scenario

CodaSiân Heder – WINNER
drive my carRyusuke Hamaguchi
DunesDenis Villeneuve
The lost girlMaggie Gyllenhaal
The power of the dogJane Campion

Main actress

Lady Gaga, House of Gucci
Alana Haim, Licorice Pizza
Emily Jones, Coda
Renate Reinsve, The worst person in the world
Joanna Scanlan, After Love – WINNER
Tessa Thompson, Who passed

Main actor

Adel Akhtar, Ali and Ava
Mahershala Ali, swan song
Benedict Cumberbatch, The power of the dog
Leonardo DiCaprio, Don’t look up
Stephane Graham, Boiling point
Will Smith, King Richard – WINNER

supporting actress

Caitriona Balfe, Belfast
Jesse Buckley, The lost girl
Ariana Debose, West Side Story – WINNER
Ann Dowd, Mass
Aunjanue Ellis, King Richard
Ruth Nega, Who passed

Supporting actor

Mike Faist, West Side Story
Ciaran Hinds, Belfast
Troy Kosur, Coda – WINNER
Woody Normand, go! Go on
Jesse Plemons, The power of the dog
Kodi Smit-Mcphee, The power of the dog

Original score

Be the RicardosDaniel Pemberton
Don’t look upNicholas Britel
DunesHans Zimmer – WINNER
The French DispatchAlexandre Desplat
The power of the dogJonny Greenwood


Boiling pointCarolyn McLeod
DunesFrancine, Maisler
God’s handMassimo Appolloni, Annamaria Sambucco
King RichardRich Delia, Avy Kaufman
West Side StoryCindy Tolan – WINNER


Dune GreigFraser – WINNER
alley of nightmaresDan Laustsen
no time to dieLinus Sandgren
The power of the dogAri Wegner
The tragedy of MacbethBruno Delbonnel


BelfastÚna Ni Dhonghaíle
DunesJoe Walker
Licorice PizzaAndy Jürgensen
no time to dieTom Cross, Elliot Graham – WINNER
Summer Of Soul (or, When The Revolution Couldn’t Be Televised)Joshua L. Pearson

production design

CyranoSarah Greenwood, Katie Spencer
DunesPatrice Vermette, Zsuzsanna Sipos – WINNER
The French DispatchAdam Stockhausen, Rena Deangelo
alley of nightmaresTamara Deverell, Shane Vieau
West Side StoryAdam Stockhausen, Rena Deangelo

costume design

CruelJenny Beavan – WINNER
CyranoMassimo Cantini Parrini
DunesRobert Morgan, Jacqueline West
The French DispatchMilena Canonero
alley of nightmaresLuis Sequeira

Make-up and hairstyle

CruelNadia Stacey, Naomi Donne
CyranoAlessandro Bertolazzi, Siân Miller
DunesLove Larson, Donald Mowat
Tammy Faye’s eyesLinda Dowds, Stephanie Ingram, Justin Raleigh – WINNER
House of GucciFrederic Aspiras, Jane Carboni, Giuliano Mariana, Sarah Nicole Tanno


DunesMac Ruth, Mark Mangini, Doug Hemphill, Theo Green, Ron Bartlett – WINNER
Last night in SohoColin Nicolson, Julian Slater, Tim Cavagin, Dan Morgan
no time to dieJames Harrison, Simon Hayes, Paul Massey, Oliver Tarney, Mark Taylor
A Quiet Place Part IIErik Aadahl, Michael Barosky, Brandon Proctor, Ethan Van Der Ryn
West Side StoryBrian Chumney, Tod Maitland, Andy Nelson, Gary Rydstrom

Special visual effects

DunesBrian Connor, Paul Lambert, Tristan Myles, Gerd Nefzer – WINNER
free guySwen Gillberg, Brian Grill, Nikos Kalaitzidis, Daniel Sudick
Ghostbusters: AfterlifeAharon Bourland, Sheena Duggal, Pier Lefebvre, Alessandro Ongaro
The Matrix ResurrectionsTom Debenham, Hew J Evans, Dan Glass, JD Schwaim
no time to dieMark Bokowski, Chris Corbould, Joel Green, Charlie Noble

British animated short

art businessJoanna Quinn, Les Mills
Don’t Feed The PigeonsJordi Morera – WINNER
Living Dread NightIda Melum, Danielle Goff, Laura Jayne Tunbridge, Hannah Kelso

British short film

The black copCherish Oteka – WINNER
WomenSam H. Freeman, Ng Choon Ping, Sam Ritzenberg, Hayley Williams
The palaceJo Prichard
StuffedTheo Rhys, Joss Holden-Rea
Three extraordinary committee meetingsMichael Woodward, Max Barron, Daniel Wheldon

EE Rising Star Award (voted by the public)

Ariana Debose
Harris Dickinson
Lashana Lynch – WINNER
Millicent Simmonds
Kodi Smit Mcphee

On an Apple device? Follow Rotten Tomatoes on Apple News.